top of page
  • Writer's pictureCooper Schneider

01/22/2018: The Joys of Communicating to the Player


This week my main focus was on improving the UI for many of our components. One of the largest things I improved was the UI's look and how the player would understand it when they were playing the game. I added in visual feedback on the buttons as well as a more visually appealing theme for the UIs.



I also added in some visual flare to leveling up with a new animation on level up. The player hears a theme and is then directed to the level up canvas. The whole animation for the level up is done in script which lerps positions, rotations, and scales to get a desired effect.




The last large thing I worked with in UI was adding a results screen which displays how well you did against the boss and shows types it out one letter at a time. You can also prematurely end the typing to quickly see the results if you would rather not wait. The code below is what gives this desired effect and makes it more simple and less tedious for the player if they wish to skip. 



The last thing I worked on majorly was improving and making my previous bosses feel and play well for good challenge. The assemble boss' wall move now makes it so you must be stuck in a box to dodge the pieces to properly avoid the damage. The sword also now has faster beams that also home in on your position.

The last things I worked on were adding various sounds and animations to certain areas to make it seem more polished and appealing to a player looking at it. This includes animations for the death of the player, beaming out on win, having a "success" voice come out on win as well.

Next week I think I would like to work on the player a little more closely. It is the only part of the project I have not touched completely. I would also not want to do more with the UIs next week as I have done much with it and would like to try some new and more mentally tasking things. One more thing I would like to work a bit more on would include some animations that play when the player is doing certain things for better effect.

The largest thing preventing me from my work is the environment I work in sometimes. I am most productive either at the school or within my own space at home, but anywhere else my brain seems to think it isn't time to work. I would like to try and fix this as I find it hard to work a lot around my team sometimes, which shouldn't be the case.

This week we were really focused on overhauling existing mechanics and ideas to give a better experience. We made sure to make attacks look and feel better, as well as be a challenge for the player. It payed off well as we got a game that plays and handles much better with all the bosses than they did before.

We were very bad with organization this week. The task list was made but not updated very often and we had to keep asking everyone if they had their tasks were done. We were actually too absorbed in work that when we got done, we would forget to mark it as complete.

0 comments

Contact Info:

Phone: (314) 587-9916

Email: CooperSchneider@outlook.com

Twitter:

LinkedIn:

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page