top of page
  • Writer's pictureCooper Schneider

01/15/2018: Making a new boss to test the player

This last week I was in charge of refining my first sword boss I created as well as making a new boss with a new design idea. For this new idea, I brainstormed a bit and really enjoyed the idea of making a leg that assembles into different attacks and forms due to being a bunch of cubes. The team enjoyed the idea as well and I got to work. One of the best attacks I enjoyed making was when the boss would do an attack where he spirals his pieces one by one following the vertical placement of the player so that the player can only avoid through their z or x position.



I designed other moves as well such as making a wall with an opening the player would have to go through to dodge. The last move for the assemble boss includes the boss forming a box-like structure that surrounds the player and they must escape before it closes in on them.



When the assemble boss is defeated, the player can then use the assemble's ability when they have it equipped. It will shoot out a wall that acts as a barrier for the player if they stay behind it to avoid damage.


Another large task I had given to me was creating a leveling system. While making experience scripts and a level menu was not too hard, I had to make sure it all connected to the game manager to keep track of the level they are on as well as upgrade the player's speed or abilities.



This was a tedious task as I had to make sure the experience the player obtained would immediately level up when it passes the Exp Cap I put in an array based on what level the player was currently at.

My last task was to make sure that abilities from the boss and basic upgrades would work with the game manager and based on purchases at the shop. This was fairly simple, but required me to fully look through each script on the player for an ability and turn them on or off based on all the bools in the game manager.

For the next week I would like to work more on the menu design and boss moves design. I want to make sure that when the player interacts with these things, it is simple to understand and it feels good to equip when in a menu. I also want to make boss moves work better to make the player always moving, but not seem like it is unfair because it wasn't telegraph very well. If I can telegraph attacks without it being too easy, then the player is left with a better experience.

The largest thing keeping me from being productive has to be that my thought process is slow. I don't always test a single thing to work for an instance but instead test a whole feature in one go, which will sometime make me slowly look over my code again and again for syntax errors, when a quick test would tell me if that would work in the first place. I also get the basic functionality working very quickly but don't always want to improve it and just quit working once it's core functionality works.

The team overall was very productive. If there was a problem had that was very large, at least 1 or 2 people would go over to help them when they needed it. We were always there to help each other, which was very good. We also made it very clear on what tasks were and when they needed to be done. While we were working to the last minute, it wasn't because someone forgot to do something.

The biggest problem with our team is that we don't comment our code and that makes it hard to build a system around their code when we can't always understand it. We are a little unorganized and we really need to fix it.


0 comments

Contact Info:

Phone: (314) 587-9916

Email: CooperSchneider@outlook.com

Twitter:

LinkedIn:

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon
bottom of page